New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

From Ireland · Laser eye surgery · Mexico

Laser eye surgery in Mexico from Ireland: what the trip costs against paying at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

For Irish patients, laser eye surgery in Mexico costs €1,880–€2,680 at the clinics we checked, or about €3,150 once an example return flight and 3 hotel nights are added. That is about €156 more than the lowest self-pay price we found in Ireland (€2,990).

Clinic price
€1,880–€2,6802 providers, both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
Example trip
€3,150clinic €1,880 + flight €1,000 + 3 hotel nights €270
Pay privately in Ireland
€2,990–€4,200
Wait in Ireland
No official figure found
Time there
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
Rank from Ireland
5 of 5 countries by total trip cost

Figure 1Where the money goes, in EUR

Trip total €3,150€156 over home

Lowest published clinic price, an example return fare from Ireland and 3 hotel nights at €90; the amber line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Examples, not quotes.

Figure 2Laser eye surgery: cheapest trip from Ireland, by country

Total trip in EUR: lowest to highest published price plus the same example flight and hotel rules. The dashed line is the lowest self-pay price at home. Click a country for its page for Irish patients.

Published laser eye surgery prices in Mexico

Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.

Laser eye surgery prices in Mexico
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Retina Center TijuanaTijuana$2,100 to $3,000about £1,570–£2,240 · €1,880–€2,680 · C$2,940–C$4,200LASIK and refractive surgery, both eyes ($2,100); SMILE laser surgery, both eyes ($3,000)Not stated. The page says coordinators give “a personalized estimate before your appointment”.Retina Center Tijuanaread 26 October 2026
Vision Mendez InstituteTijuana$2,790about £2,090 · €2,490 · C$3,900LASIK, PRK or Relex SMILE, $1,395 per eye (our ×2 for both eyes)Not stated. “Every case is unique, as such, each patient’s total cost of care will vary.”Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana)read 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.

Against waiting or paying in Ireland

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for laser eye surgery in Ireland.

Paying privately in Ireland: €2,990–€4,200, from Optical Express Ireland and Optilase.

Can the HSE pay?

NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Mexico. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Mexico is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.

Planning the trip from Ireland

  1. Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
  3. Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
  5. Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  6. LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
  7. After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
  8. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your real fare from Ireland and your hotel to see the total for Mexico next to every other country.

Open the calculator

Related pages

Laser eye surgery in Mexico from Ireland: questions

How much is laser eye surgery in Mexico for Irish patients?

The published prices we found work out at €1,880–€2,680 at the clinic, from Retina Center Tijuana and Vision Mendez Institute. With an example return flight of €1,000 and 3 hotel nights at €90, the trip comes to about €3,150. Your own fares and dates will change the total.

Is it cheaper than paying privately in Ireland?

No, not on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is €2,990, about €156 less than the cheapest trip. It can make sense if you are already travelling to Mexico.

How long is the wait for laser eye surgery in Ireland?

We have not found an official waiting-time figure for this in Ireland.

How many days do I need in Mexico?

3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.

Will the HSE pay for it?

No. HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland; Mexico is outside them.

Sources

  1. Tijuana eye care prices 2026. Retina Center Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Prices. Vision Mendez Institute (Tijuana). Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Laser eye surgery pricing. Optical Express (Ireland). Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Optilase Price Guide, Ireland, September 2026 (PDF). Optilase, 29 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.