From US · Dental implant · Mexico
Dental implant in Mexico from the US: what the trip costs against paying at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
For Americans, a dental implant in Mexico costs $1,280–$1,550 at the clinics we checked, or about $2,130 once an example return flight and 5 hotel nights are added. That is about $130 more than the lowest self-pay price we found in the US ($2,000).
- Clinic price
- $1,280–$1,5502 providers, one tooth: the implant post, the abutment and the crown. Where a clinic lists these separately, we show each line
- Example trip
- $2,130clinic $1,280 + flight $300 + 5 hotel nights $550
- Pay privately in US
- $2,000–$6,000
- Wait in US
- No national waiting list
- Time there
- Usually two trips: one to place the implant, then a second visit some months later for the crown. Some clinics offer a faster protocol
- Rank from US
- 1 of 6 countries by total trip cost
Figure 1Where the money goes, in USD
Trip total $2,130$130 over home
Figure 2Dental implant: cheapest trip from the US, by country
Published dental implant prices in Mexico
Each row is a price the provider publishes itself, in its own currency, with what it includes. The converted amounts use a fixed European Central Bank rate.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Algodones Dental CenterLos Algodones | $1,280about £957 · €1,140 · C$1,790 | Single titanium implant ($790) plus zirconia crown ($490), our sum of two linesThe page lists the implant and the crown separately and does not mention the abutment, so a finished tooth may cost more. Implant brand for this line not stated. | Algodones Dental Center (Los Algodones)read 26 October 2026 |
| Dental Solutions TijuanaTijuana | $1,545about £1,160 · €1,380 · C$2,160 | Dental implant ($850) plus implant crown and abutment ($695), our sum of two linesPrices in US dollars, “subject to change without prior notice”. Brand, 3D scan and bone graft not stated. | Dental Solutions Tijuanaread 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Tijuana and Los Algodones sit on the US border, and the clinics here quote in US dollars. Hospital MAC's list is a general public price list valid to 31 December 2026; the dental and eye clinics do not date their pages.
Against waiting or paying in the US
The US has no national public waiting list; what matters is the price your insurer or the hospital charges.
Paying privately in the US: $2,000–$6,000, from University of Iowa College of Dentistry. These are 2021 hospital cash-price medians or a dental school estimate, so today’s prices are probably higher.
Can your insurer pay?
Ask your insurer before you book. Plans rarely pay for planned treatment abroad unless they have agreed in writing first.
Planning the trip from the US
- Get a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for a dental implant and ask for an itemised price in writing, with the date and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goSend the clinic a recent X-ray and ask for a written, itemised plan with the total price.
- Before you goAsk how many visits you need and how long each one is.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice before booking: US citizens (State Department, choose the country).
- LanguageSpanish; border clinics that serve US patients usually work in English.
- After you returnRegister with a dentist at home who is willing to see an implant placed abroad, and give them the brand and part numbers.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your real fare from the US and your hotel to see the total for Mexico next to every other country.
Related pages
Dental implant in Mexico from the US: questions
How much is a dental implant in Mexico for Americans?
The published prices we found work out at $1,280–$1,550 at the clinic, from Algodones Dental Center and Dental Solutions Tijuana. With an example return flight of $300 and 5 hotel nights at $110, the trip comes to about $2,130. Your own fares and dates will change the total.
Is it cheaper than paying privately in the US?
No, not on these example figures: the lowest self-pay price we found at home is $2,000, about $130 less than the cheapest trip. It can make sense if you are already travelling to Mexico.
How long is the wait for a dental implant in the US?
There is no national public waiting list in the US; the question is usually the price your insurer pays.
How many days do I need in Mexico?
Usually two trips: one to place the implant, then a second visit some months later for the crown. Some clinics offer a faster protocol. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice; ask the clinic for its schedule in writing.
Will my insurer pay for it?
Ask your insurer before booking. Most plans pay little or nothing for planned treatment abroad unless they agree in advance.
Sources
- Dental prices. Algodones Dental Center (Los Algodones). Read 26 October 2026.
- Price list. Dental Solutions Tijuana. Read 26 October 2026.
- Dental implants: patient care. University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Read 26 October 2026.
- Lista de precios público general, Hospital MAC Tijuana (valid 1 Sep to 31 Dec 2026). Hospitales MAC, 1 September 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.