Knee replacement · Poland
Knee replacement in Poland: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 5 published prices for a knee replacement in Poland, from 25,800 PLN to 38,900 PLN, or about £4,920 to £7,410 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £16,910 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- 25,800 PLN to 38,900 PLNabout £4,920 to £7,410 · about €5,870 to €8,850 · about C$9,200 to C$13,870 · about $6,570 to $9,910
- Price is for
- one primary total knee replacement on one side, with the implant and hospital stay. Partial knees and fees without the implant are shown but not compared
- Where
- Opole, Jelenia Góra, Poznań and Konstancin-Jeziorna
- Providers
- 5 (KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic, Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne) and Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”))
- Time there
- About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then physiotherapy near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule
- NHS England wait
- 61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics) (August 2026)
Published knee replacement prices in Poland
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| KORT KlinikaOpole | 29,000 PLNabout £5,530 · €6,600 · C$10,340 · $7,390 | Total knee replacement: surgery 22,000 PLN plus total knee prosthesis 7,000 PLNPre-operative tests if required, the operation, the implant, up to 3 days in hospital and in-hospital rehabilitation. Partial (one-compartment) knee 27,000 PLN. | KORT Klinika (Opole)read 26 October 2026 |
| Klinika SilesiaOpole | 29,000 PLNabout £5,530 · €6,600 · C$10,340 · $7,390 | Total knee replacement (TKA)The operation, implant, hospital stay and perioperative care. Partial knee (UKA) 27,000 PLN. | Klinika Silesia (Opole)read 26 October 2026 |
| KCM ClinicJelenia Góra | 32,900 PLN to 38,900 PLNabout £6,270–£7,410 · €7,490–€8,850 · C$11,730–C$13,870 · $8,380–$9,910 | PAKIET OP total knee replacement, by implant (Enovis Lima cemented or Zimmer NexGen 32,900 to Mathys BalanSys nickel-free 38,900)Named implant, anaesthesia, 3 days in hospital and 7 days of rehabilitation. DePuy Attune package 33,900. Surgery and implant without the package: 28,900 to 34,900. | KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra)read 26 October 2026 |
| Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne)Poznań | From 25,800 PLNabout £4,920 · €5,870 · C$9,200 · $6,570 | Knee replacement, 4-day stayPrice “from”, 4-day stay. Anaesthetist consultation 365 PLN extra. Implant not stated. | Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań)read 26 October 2026 |
| Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”)Konstancin-Jeziorna | 10,000 PLNabout £1,910 · €2,280 · C$3,560 · $2,550 | Primary total knee replacement, procedure fee onlyImplant, prosthesis, fixation and drugs charged on top at tendered prices (not stated); anaesthesia and nursing 1,000 PLN; room 200 to 400 PLN a day. Not comparable with an all-in price.Not comparable | Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl)read 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Poland price converted to that currency. The Poland figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | 61.1% within 18 weeks (all orthopaedics)England, August 2026 | £16,910 | £4,920 to £7,410before flights and hotel |
| Canada | Median 146 days; 1 in 10 waited over 361 daysCanada (national), 2025 | Not verified | C$9,200 to C$13,870before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | About 35% waiting over 6 months (all orthopaedic surgery)Ireland (public hospitals), 24 September 2026 | Not verified | €5,870 to €8,850before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $29,1002021 hospital data or a dental school | $6,570 to $9,910before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Poland next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the knee replacement and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goSend recent X-rays and a list of your medicines, and ask for a written, itemised quote with the implant named.
- Before you goArrange physiotherapy at home for after you return before you book.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned surgery abroad and a delayed flight home. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnGive your GP and physiotherapist the operation note with the implant details.
- After you returnA hot, swollen calf, chest pain or breathlessness after the flight need emergency care straight away.
Can your public system pay for it?
From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.
From Ireland (HSE): Poland is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.
When not to travel for a knee replacement
- Anyone whose home surgeon has not confirmed that a knee replacement is the right operation.
- Serious heart or lung disease, or a recent blood clot, unless the hospital’s anaesthetist has reviewed you in advance.
- Anyone who cannot keep up daily exercises after surgery or has no help at home.
How to compare knee replacement quotes
A total knee replacement resurfaces the worn ends of the thigh and shin bones with metal and plastic parts, usually for arthritis pain. Recovery takes weeks of daily exercises, and some stiffness is common at first. A partial (one-compartment) knee replacement is a smaller operation with a different price, so compare like with like.
- Check whether the price is for a total or a partial knee, and whether the implant is included.
- Ask for the implant make and model in writing, and how many nights in hospital and physiotherapy sessions are included.
- Robot-assisted surgery usually costs more. Ask what it adds in your case.
- Ask when you can fly and how blood clots are prevented during the trip home.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- KORT Klinika, Opole: 29,000 PLN
- Klinika Silesia, Opole: 29,000 PLN
- KCM Clinic, Jelenia Góra: 32,900 PLN to 38,900 PLN
- Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne), Poznań: From 25,800 PLN
- Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”), Konstancin-Jeziorna: 10,000 PLN
Related comparisons
- Knee replacement abroad: all 5 countries compared
- Knee replacement in Mexico
- Knee replacement in Turkey
- Knee replacement in Hungary
- Knee replacement in Thailand
- MRI scan in Poland
- Colonoscopy in Poland
- Health check-up in Poland
- Cataract surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Dental implant in Poland
- Veneers in Poland
- Hair transplant in Poland
- Hip replacement in Poland
- IVF in Poland
- Treatment in Poland: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Knee replacement in Poland: questions
How much does a knee replacement cost in Poland?
The published prices we found range from 25,800 PLN to 38,900 PLN, about £4,920 to £7,410 or $6,570 to $9,910. They come from KORT Klinika, Klinika Silesia, KCM Clinic, Szpital św. Wojciecha (Wielkopolskie Centrum Medyczne) and Szpital im. prof. M. Weissa (Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer”). Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is a knee replacement in Poland cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £4,920 to £7,410, against about £16,910 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 10 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for a knee replacement in Poland?
The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.
How many days should I plan in Poland?
About 10 to 14 days in many cases: 2 to 4 nights in hospital, then physiotherapy near the clinic until the surgeon says you can fly. Ask for the clinic’s own rule. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking a knee replacement in Poland?
Check whether the price is for a total or a partial knee, and whether the implant is included. Ask for the implant make and model in writing, and how many nights in hospital and physiotherapy sessions are included.
Sources
- Cennik: zabiegi ortopedyczne. KORT Klinika (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
- Ile kosztuje endoproteza kolana w Polsce w 2026 roku?. Klinika Silesia (Opole). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik: ortopedia. KCM Clinic (Jelenia Góra). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik: ortopedia, staw kolanowy. Szpital św. Wojciecha (Poznań). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik Szpitala im. prof. M. Weissa: operacje ortopedyczne. Mazowieckie Centrum Rehabilitacji “Stocer” (gov.pl). Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.