New: hip, knee, IVF and LASIK

Compare

Laser eye surgery · Poland

Laser eye surgery in Poland: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home

Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)

Short answer

We found 6 published prices for laser eye surgery in Poland, from 6,500 PLN to 10,900 PLN, or about £1,240 to £2,080 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,590 to £7,500 at the providers we checked.

Published price
6,500 PLN to 10,900 PLNabout £1,240 to £2,080 · about €1,480 to €2,480 · about C$2,320 to C$3,890 · about $1,660 to $2,780
Price is for
both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
Where
Rzeszów, Warsaw and Warsaw (Ochota)
Providers
3 (Visum Clinic, Instytut Oka and Optegra Polska)
Time there
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
NHS England wait
No NHS figure for this

Published laser eye surgery prices in Poland

Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.

Laser eye surgery prices in Poland
ProviderPublished priceWhat the price is forSource
Visum ClinicRzeszów9,900 PLNabout £1,890 · €2,250 · C$3,530 · $2,520Femto LASIK, both eyesQualification consultation 400 zł extra (non-refundable). Follow-up visits free for 1 month, then 400 zł. Price described as indicative, final cost set at consultation. Femto LASIK one eye 5,800 zł.Visum Clinicread 26 October 2026
Visum ClinicRzeszów10,900 PLNabout £2,080 · €2,480 · C$3,890 · $2,780SMILE, both eyesAs above. One eye 6,000 zł.Visum Clinicread 26 October 2026
Visum ClinicRzeszów6,500 PLN to 8,800 PLNabout £1,240–£1,680 · €1,480–€2,000 · C$2,320–C$3,140 · $1,660–$2,240LASEK, both eyes (6,500); EBK/TransPRK, both eyes (8,800)As above. Mitomycin C +500 zł.Visum Clinicread 26 October 2026
Instytut OkaWarsaw10,395 PLNabout £1,980 · €2,370 · C$3,710 · $2,650Femto-LASIK, both eyesQualification visit 450 zł extra. Treatments of at least 5,000 zł come with a free night in the apartments above the clinic (“Pakiet VIP”). One eye 5,830 zł.Instytut Okaread 26 October 2026
Instytut OkaWarsaw7,350 PLN to 7,875 PLNabout £1,400–£1,500 · €1,670–€1,790 · C$2,620–C$2,810 · $1,870–$2,010PRK / LASEK, both eyes (7,350); NTLT No-Touch, both eyes (7,875)As above.Instytut Okaread 26 October 2026
Optegra PolskaWarsaw (Ochota)10,900 PLNabout £2,080 · €2,480 · C$3,890 · $2,780Laser vision correction, price used in the clinic’s 0% instalment exampleOnly appears as a finance example (“zabieg laserowej korekcji wzroku w cenie 10 900 PLN; plan rat: 20 rat”). Method and number of eyes not stated. Post-op check I free, II and III 299 zł each.Not comparableOptegra Polskaread 26 October 2026

Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.

Poznań's MSWiA hospital is a public hospital that also sells services to paying patients; its list is dated 1 January 2026. Private clinics in Warsaw publish similar or higher prices. Polish eye clinics charge a separate qualification visit before cataract surgery.

Compared with waiting or paying at home

The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Poland price converted to that currency. The Poland figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.

Waiting times and self-pay prices at home for laser eye surgery
Where you liveOfficial waitPay at homeHere, converted
UKNo official figure found£2,590 to £7,500£1,240 to £2,080before flights and hotel
CanadaNo official figure foundC$980 to C$6,180C$2,320 to C$3,890before flights and hotel
IrelandNo official figure found€2,990 to €4,200€1,480 to €2,480before flights and hotel
USNo national figure$4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school$1,660 to $2,780before flights and hotel

Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.

Add your flight and hotel

Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Poland next to your wait and your price at home.

Open the calculator

How it works for a visitor

  1. Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
  2. Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
  3. Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
  4. Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
  5. LanguagePolish; private clinics in big cities often have English-speaking staff, public hospitals less often.
  6. Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
  7. After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
  8. After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.

Can your public system pay for it?

From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.

From Ireland (HSE): Poland is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.

When not to travel for laser eye surgery

  • A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
  • Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
  • Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.

How to compare laser eye surgery quotes

Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.

  • Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
  • Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
  • Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
  • Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.

Providers on this page

We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.

Related comparisons

Laser eye surgery in Poland: questions

How much does laser eye surgery cost in Poland?

The published prices we found range from 6,500 PLN to 10,900 PLN, about £1,240 to £2,080 or $1,660 to $2,780. They come from Visum Clinic, Instytut Oka and Optegra Polska. Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.

Is laser eye surgery in Poland cheaper than paying privately in the UK?

Before travel, the prices here work out at about £1,240 to £2,080, against about £2,590 to £7,500 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 3 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.

Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Poland?

The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.

How many days should I plan in Poland?

3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.

What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Poland?

Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.

Sources

  1. Cennik laserowej korekcji wzroku (laser vision correction price list). Visum Clinic, Rzeszów. Read 26 October 2026.
  2. Laserowa korekcja wzroku (laser vision correction), Warsaw. Instytut Oka, Warsaw. Read 26 October 2026.
  3. Cennik, Klinika Warszawa Ochota (price list). Optegra Polska. Read 26 October 2026.
  4. Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
  5. Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  6. Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
  7. Cennik usług medycznych obowiązujący od 1.01.2026 (price list valid from 1 January 2026). Szpital MSWiA w Poznaniu (Ministry of Interior hospital, Poznań), 1 January 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
  8. Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.