Laser eye surgery · Hungary
Laser eye surgery in Hungary: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
We found 4 published prices for laser eye surgery in Hungary, from 380,000 HUF to 840,000 HUF, or about £868 to £1,920 before flights and a hotel. Paying privately in the UK costs about £2,590 to £7,500 at the providers we checked.
- Published price
- 380,000 HUF to 840,000 HUFabout £868 to £1,920 · about €1,040 to €2,290 · about C$1,620 to C$3,590 · about $1,160 to $2,560
- Price is for
- both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Where
- Budapest
- Providers
- 1 (Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre))
- Time there
- 3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
- NHS England wait
- No NHS figure for this
Published laser eye surgery prices in Hungary
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)Budapest | 660,000 HUFabout £1,510 · €1,800 · C$2,820 · $2,010 | FEMTO NEO 7D (femtosecond flap LASIK), coupon price 330,000 HUF per eye, valid only for both eyes (our ×2)Two mandatory follow-ups free; 5-year retreatment guarantee. Suitability exam 25,000 HUF (40,000 over age 45), deducted from the surgery price. Without coupon 390,000 per eye. Coupon validity date not stated next to this price. | Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)read 26 October 2026 |
| Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)Budapest | 780,000 HUFabout £1,780 · €2,130 · C$3,330 · $2,380 | FEMTO NEO 7D FAST TRACK, both eyes in 4 daysDay 1 suitability exam (25,000), day 3 surgery (755,000), day 4 next-day check. The page says Fast Track pricing applies whenever there is only 1 working day between exam and surgery, which is the usual case for visitors from abroad. | Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)read 26 October 2026 |
| Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)Budapest | 840,000 HUFabout £1,920 · €2,290 · C$3,590 · $2,560 | CLEAR NEO (flapless femto, SMILE-type), coupon price 420,000 HUF per eye for both eyes (our ×2)As above. Without coupon 480,000 per eye (540,000 shown as the list price). CLEAR NEO Fast Track, both eyes: 960,000. | Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)read 26 October 2026 |
| Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)Budapest | 380,000 HUFabout £868 · €1,040 · C$1,620 · $1,160 | PRK 7D, 190,000 HUF per eye (our ×2)Three mandatory follow-ups free; 5-year retreatment guarantee; exam fee rules as above. | Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre)read 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Budapest clinics publish prices in forints. The Buda Eye Centre lets patients pay in euros at the National Bank of Hungary rate and runs a Fast Track programme for patients from abroad (price list, in Hungarian).
MRI: a Hungarian business paper reported in February 2026 that private providers have not been allowed to perform MRI or CT scans since 1 November 2025 and that the state bought their machines (Economx, in Hungarian). Wáberer Medical Center still listed MRI prices when we read its page on 26 October 2026. Ask the clinic in writing whether it can book your scan before you buy a flight. We have not read the legal text.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Hungary price converted to that currency. The Hungary figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | No official figure found | £2,590 to £7,500 | £868 to £1,920before flights and hotel |
| Canada | No official figure found | C$980 to C$6,180 | C$1,620 to C$3,590before flights and hotel |
| Ireland | No official figure found | €2,990 to €4,200 | €1,040 to €2,290before flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school | $1,160 to $2,560before flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Hungary next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguageHungarian; Budapest private clinics usually have English pages and staff.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Can your public system pay for it?
From England (NHS): the S2 route can fund planned treatment in an EU country, but only state healthcare with a public provider, never private treatment, and only with approval before you go. NHS England must also confirm it cannot treat you in a medically acceptable time. The private clinics on this page do not qualify. NHS: the S2 funding route.
From Ireland (HSE): Hungary is one of the EU countries listed for the Cross Border Directive scheme. You pay the provider yourself and then claim back the smaller of what you paid and what the same care would cost in the Irish public system; travel and hotels are not covered, and you need a referral from a GP or a consultant you saw as a public patient. HSE: Cross Border Directive, how much you can claim.
When not to travel for laser eye surgery
- A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
- Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
- Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.
How to compare laser eye surgery quotes
Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.
- Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
- Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
- Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
- Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre), Budapest: 660,000 HUF
Related comparisons
- Laser eye surgery abroad: all 6 countries compared
- Laser eye surgery in Mexico
- Laser eye surgery in Turkey
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Japan
- Laser eye surgery in Thailand
- MRI scan in Hungary
- Colonoscopy in Hungary
- Health check-up in Hungary
- Cataract surgery in Hungary
- Dental implant in Hungary
- Veneers in Hungary
- Hair transplant in Hungary
- Hip replacement in Hungary
- Knee replacement in Hungary
- Treatment in Hungary: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Laser eye surgery in Hungary: questions
How much does laser eye surgery cost in Hungary?
The published prices we found range from 380,000 HUF to 840,000 HUF, about £868 to £1,920 or $1,160 to $2,560. They come from Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre). Each covers something slightly different, so read what is included before comparing.
Is laser eye surgery in Hungary cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
Before travel, the prices here work out at about £868 to £1,920, against about £2,590 to £7,500 at the UK providers we checked. Add a return flight and 3 nights in a hotel before deciding; the calculator on the home page does the sum.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Hungary?
The NHS S2 route pays only for state treatment at a public provider in the EU, with approval before you travel, not for private clinics. From Ireland, the HSE Cross Border Directive scheme lets you claim back up to what the same care costs in the Irish public system, after you have paid.
How many days should I plan in Hungary?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Hungary?
Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
Sources
- Árlista (price list). Budai Szemészeti Központ (Buda Eye Centre), Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: how to get healthcare abroad. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Cross Border Directive: DRG codes and how much you can claim. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Minden MR- és CT-gépet megvett az állam. Economx (Hungarian business news), 4 February 2026. Read 26 October 2026.
- Prices. Wáberer Medical Center, Budapest. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.