Laser eye surgery · Thailand
Laser eye surgery in Thailand: what it costs and how it compares with waiting at home
Prices checked 26 October 2026 (Taipei time)
Short answer
Thailand providers publish laser eye operations only inside bundles with other tests, so we show them but leave Thailand out of the price comparison.
- Published price
- Bundles only, not comparable
- Price is for
- both eyes, LASIK, SMILE or PRK/LASEK. Where a clinic prices per eye we double the figure and say so
- Where
- Bangkok
- Providers
- 1 (TRSC International Eye and Vision Center)
- Time there
- 3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly
- NHS England wait
- No NHS figure for this
Published laser eye surgery prices in Thailand
Every row is a price the provider publishes itself, read on the date shown. We copy what the price includes and what it leaves out; where the provider does not say, the row says “not stated”. We do not use prices from brokers or medical-travel agencies.
| Provider | Published price | What the price is for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| TRSC International Eye and Vision CenterBangkok | From ฿149,000about £3,300 · €3,940 · C$6,180 · $4,420 | Super ReLEx (SMILE pro 2.0) package, “starting 149,000 baht”Read from a banner image on the clinic’s fee page, not from page text. The banner lists 24-hour advice line, 5 follow-ups, TRSC 20/20 Club, Lifelong Vision Support Program. Per eye or both eyes: not stated.Not comparable | TRSC International Eye and Vision Centerread 26 October 2026 |
Prices are copied as published, in the provider's currency. Conversions use the European Central Bank reference rates of 23 October 2026 and are rounded. A provider can change a price at any time: ask for a written quote.
Some Bangkok hospitals publish lower package prices that are only for Thai nationals and foreigners living in Thailand. MedPark Hospital's colonoscopy package, for example, says “The price is exclusively for Thai nationals and expatriates residing in Thailand” (MedPark). We leave such prices out. The Bumrungrad surgical prices here come from a 2025 sheet hosted by an insurer, so ask the hospital for its current price.
Compared with waiting or paying at home
The official waiting figure and the self-pay price in each home country, next to the Thailand price converted to that currency. The Thailand figure does not include flights, a hotel or time off work.
| Where you live | Official wait | Pay at home | Here, converted |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | No official figure found | £2,590 to £7,500 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| Canada | No official figure found | C$980 to C$6,180 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| Ireland | No official figure found | €2,990 to €4,200 | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
| US | No national figure | $4,990 to $5,7902021 hospital data or a dental school | No comparable pricebefore flights and hotel |
Waits are the latest official statistics; each country measures them differently, so read the label. Home prices are published self-pay prices; for the US they are 2021 hospital medians or a dental school's estimate.
Add your flight and hotel
Put in your own flight and hotel to see the total for Thailand next to your wait and your price at home.
How it works for a visitor
- Ask for a written quoteSend the clinic your referral or reason for the laser eye surgery and ask for an itemised price, the date, and what happens if the result needs follow-up.
- Before you goAsk how long you must stop wearing contact lenses before the suitability tests; it can be days or weeks.
- Before you goBring your latest glasses prescription and any eye reports.
- Before you goCheck your travel insurance covers planned treatment abroad. Most standard policies do not.
- LanguageThai; the large Bangkok private hospitals work in English and many other languages.
- Entry rulesCheck the official advice for your passport before booking: UK citizens (FCDO entry requirements), Canadian citizens (travel.gc.ca), US citizens (State Department, choose the country), Irish citizens (DFA travel advice, choose the country).
- After you returnUse the eye drops exactly as prescribed, and ask the clinic for a written operation note to give your optician.
- After you returnSudden pain, worsening vision or a red, sticky eye after surgery need urgent care at home.
Can your public system pay for it?
NHS and HSE schemes do not reach Thailand. The NHS S2 route covers state treatment in the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the HSE schemes cover the EU, EEA, the UK and Switzerland. Treatment in Thailand is paid by you or by a private insurer who agrees in advance. NHS S2 route, HSE Treatment Abroad Scheme.
When not to travel for laser eye surgery
- A prescription that is still changing. Clinics usually want it stable before they operate.
- Dry eyes, thin corneas or an eye disease such as keratoconus, until the clinic has measured and assessed you.
- Anyone who cannot stay for the next-day check, or who needs to fly or drive straight after surgery.
How to compare laser eye surgery quotes
Laser eye surgery reshapes the clear front surface of the eye (the cornea) to correct short sight, long sight or astigmatism, so you depend less on glasses or contact lenses. LASIK and SMILE work under a thin flap or through a small cut; PRK and LASEK treat the surface, which takes longer to heal. The NHS does not usually offer it, so at home it is a private purchase. Not everyone is suitable: the clinic measures your eyes first, and some clinics charge for that visit.
- Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price.
- Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
- Ask whether the suitability tests are free, charged, or deducted from the operation price.
- Ask what aftercare is included, for how long, and whether a second treatment (enhancement) is covered if your sight is not fully corrected.
Providers on this page
We list providers because they publish a price, not because we recommend them. No clinic pays to be listed, and we have not visited any of them.
- TRSC International Eye and Vision Center, Bangkok: From ฿149,000
Related comparisons
- Laser eye surgery abroad: all 6 countries compared
- Laser eye surgery in Mexico
- Laser eye surgery in Turkey
- Laser eye surgery in Poland
- Laser eye surgery in Hungary
- Laser eye surgery in Japan
- MRI scan in Thailand
- Colonoscopy in Thailand
- Health check-up in Thailand
- Cataract surgery in Thailand
- Dental implant in Thailand
- Veneers in Thailand
- Hip replacement in Thailand
- Knee replacement in Thailand
- IVF in Thailand
- Treatment in Thailand: every procedure
- Wait or Fly home: the calculator
Laser eye surgery in Thailand: questions
How much does laser eye surgery cost in Thailand?
TRSC International Eye and Vision Center publishes only bundles that include other tests, so there is no price for laser eye surgery on its own that compares with other countries.
Is laser eye surgery in Thailand cheaper than paying privately in the UK?
We do not have both a UK price and a comparable Thailand price for this, so we cannot say. Compare the published prices on this page with a written quote from a UK provider.
Will the NHS or HSE pay for laser eye surgery in Thailand?
No. The NHS S2 route and the HSE schemes cover planned treatment in Europe only. Thailand is outside them, so you pay yourself or through a private insurer that agrees in advance.
How many days should I plan in Thailand?
3 to 4 days: suitability tests, the operation, and a check the next day before you fly. That is our planning estimate, not medical advice: the clinic sets the schedule, and you should ask it for one in writing.
What should I check before booking laser eye surgery in Thailand?
Check whether the price is per eye or for both eyes. Many clinics advertise the per-eye price. Compare the same technique: LASIK, SMILE and PRK/LASEK are priced differently, and “from” prices often depend on your prescription.
Sources
- Examination and surgical fees (banner image). TRSC International Eye and Vision Center, Bangkok. Read 26 October 2026.
- Planned treatment: S2 funding route. NHS (nhs.uk). Read 26 October 2026.
- Treatment Abroad Scheme. Health Service Executive (HSE). Read 26 October 2026.
- Colonoscopy package. MedPark Hospital, Bangkok. Read 26 October 2026.
- Bumrungrad International Hospital: top surgical packages 2025 (sheet hosted by FWD Insurance Thailand). Bumrungrad International Hospital, via FWD Insurance, 2025. Read 26 October 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates. European Central Bank, 23 October 2026. Read 26 October 2026.